Lyon Music Festival / Fête de la Musique

World Music Day takes place on June 21 on the day of the summer solstice.  Its aim is to promote music, and on this night amateur and professional musicians perform in the streets. Free concerts are organised to expose people to a wide variety of different genres of music. The first was organised in Paris in 1982, and it is now celebrated in 32 countries around the world.

In Lyon hundreds of concerts take place throughout the city featuring local groups as well as international artists. Although I only got home from work at midnight on this night, I still managed to dash out with my little Lumix camera and take some videos around Vieux Lyon where I live. It’s really a fantastic night with something to discover on nearly every corner. For the moment I only have Windows Movie Maker to edit with but I’ve made do. Let me know what you think:

One thought on “Lyon Music Festival / Fête de la Musique

Leave a Reply

